Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Stratospheric impact on cold spell predictability: The 2018 case

The predictability of the 2018 late-winter Eurasian cold spell was increased by stratospheric conditions.

In mid-February 2018, there was a change in the direction of the dominant stratospheric polar night jet from westerly to easterly. Such an event is called sudden stratospheric warming (SSW), as it is associated with a rapid temperature increase in the stratosphere (the atmospheric layer between 12 and 50 km). SSWs are rare but very relevant for the variability of the Northern Hemisphere wintertime circulation. Moreover, the stratospheric state can influence surface weather e.g. in favoring the occurrence of weather extremes. During late February/early March 2018, a severe cold spell with surface temperatures reaching 10° below its climatology hit Eurasia. This cold spell was associated with a persistent weather pattern over Scandinavia (known as Scandinavian blocking) followed by an extreme negative phase of the North Atlantic Oscillation (NAO) associated with anomalously lower surface pressure over the Azores and higher surface pressure over Iceland.

We investigated the predictability of this cold spell/NAO event using ensemble forecasts from the Subseasonal-to-Seasonal (S2S) archive of the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF). Ensemble forecasts cover a number of possible forecast scenarios, called ensemble members, which are calculated with slightly different initial conditions to estimate the range of possible evolutions of the weather conditions for the following days and weeks. It was found that this event was predicted with the observed strength roughly 10 days in advance. However, the probability of the cold spell occurring doubled already 25 days in advance, when the SSW occurred (cf. Fig. 1). The amplitude of the cold spell was increased by a regime shift to the negative NAO phase at the end of February, which was likely favored by the SSW. We quantified the contribution of the SSW to the enhanced extended-range forecast skill for this particular event by running additional forecast ensembles in which the evolution of the stratosphere was nudged to (a) the observed evolution, and (b) the climatological state. Here, nudging means that the forecasts are running freely in the troposphere but with prescribed stratospheric evolution. In experiment (a), the probability of a strong cold spell occurring was increased by 45%, while it was at its climatological value of 5% when the stratosphere was nudged to the climatological state (experiment (b)). This case study is novel as most of the previous studies have focused on the average characteristics of many single events (composites) to investigate the link between surface extremes, SSWs and its effect on predictability. However, we caution that probabilistic gain in predictability alone is insufficient to conclude a causal link between the SSW and the cold spell

 

Fig. 1: Schematic showing the predictability of a surface extreme event for different forecast ranges (long-range forecasts with lead times of 1 month to synoptic-range forecasts with lead times of only a few days) under the influence of remote forcing (e.g. sudden stratospheric warming, SSW) occurring during the extended range. Light grey shading indicates the ensemble spread (5th to 95th percentile), while dark grey shading indicated the ensemble mean.  

For more details please see Kautz et al. (2020) [1]. This study is conducted within the C8 project (https://www.wavestoweather.de/research_areas/phase2/c8/index.html) of the Transregional Collaborative Research Center “Waves to Weather” (CRC/Transregio 165; W2W) and in collaboration with the ECMWF.

[1] Kautz*, L-A, Polichtchouk*, I, Birner, T, Garny, H, & Pinto, JG. Enhanced extended‐range predictability of the 2018 late‐winter Eurasian cold spell due to the stratosphere. QJR Meteorol Soc. 2020; 1-16. https://doi.org/10.1002/qj.3724

Working group: Regional Climate and Weather Hazards

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Stratosphärischer Einfluss auf die Vorhersagbarkeit von Kältewellen: Der Fall 2018

Die Vorhersagbarkeit der Kältewelle im Spätwinter 2018 über Eurasien konnte durch die Bedingungen in der Stratosphäre verbessert werden.

Mitte Februar 2018 drehte der nächtliche polare Strahlstrom von West nach Ost. Ein solches Ereignis wird als plötzliche Stratosphärenerwärmung (engl. sudden stratospheric warming, SSW) bezeichnet, da es mit einem schnellen Temperaturanstieg in der Stratosphäre (atmosphärische Schicht zwischen 12 und 50 km) einhergeht. SSWs sind zwar selten, aber äußerst relevant für die Variabilität der Zirkulation in der nördlichen Winterhemisphäre. So können die Bedingungen in der Stratosphäre das Wetter beeinflussen, indem sie beispielsweise Wetterextreme begünstigen. Ende Februar/Anfang März 2018 traf Eurasien eine schwere Kältewelle mit Oberflächentemperaturen von 10° unter dem klimatologischen Mittel. Diese Kälteperiode war mit einem persistenten Wettersystem über Skandinavien (Skandinavischer Block) verbunden, gefolgt von einer extrem negativen Phase der Nordatlantischen Oszillation (NAO), die durch verhältnismäßig tiefen Bodendruck über den Azoren und hohen Bodendruck über Island gekennzeichnet ist.

In unserer Studie untersuchten wir die Vorhersagbarkeit dieser Kältewelle/dieses NAO-Ereignisses mithilfe von Ensemblevorhersagen aus dem S2S-Archiv (engl. Subseasonal-to-Seasonal) des Europäischen Zentrums für mittelfristige Wettervorhersage (EZMW). Ensemblevorhersagen decken eine Reihe möglicher Vorhersageszenarien ab, die als Ensemblemitglieder bezeichnet und mit leicht veränderten Anfangsbedingungen berechnet werden, um den Bereich möglicher Wetterbedingungen für die folgenden Tage und Wochen abschätzen zu können. Es stellte sich heraus, dass dieses Ereignis in der beobachteten Stärke etwa 10 Tage im Voraus vorhergesagt werden konnte. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit für das Auftreten der Kältewelle hat sich jedoch bereits 25 Tage vor dem Auftreten der SSW verdoppelt (vgl. Abb. 1). Die Amplitude der Kältewelle wurde durch einen Regimewechsel in die negative NAO-Phase Ende Februar verstärkt, was wahrscheinlich durch die SSW begünstigt wurde. Zur Quantifizierung des Beitrags der SSW zur verbesserten Vorhersagbarkeit in diesem speziellen Fall wurden zusätzliche Ensemblevorhersagen gerechnet. Im ersten Experiment (a) wurde die Stratosphäre an die beobachtete Entwicklung „genudgt“ (vgl. engl. nudging). In einem zweiten Experiment (b) erfolgte das „nudging“ an den klimatologischen Zustand.  „Nudging“ bedeutet hier, dass die Vorhersagen in der Troposphäre frei laufen gelassen werden, jedoch mit vorgeschriebener Entwicklung in der Stratosphäre. In Experiment (a) wurde die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines starken Kälteeinbruchs um 45% erhöht, während in Experiment (b) nur der klimatologische Wert von 5% erzielt werden konnte. Das Neue an unserer Untersuchung ist, dass es sich um eine reine Fallstudie handelt, da die meisten anderen Studien, die den Zusammenhang zwischen Wetterextremen, SSWs und dessen Auswirkung auf die Vorhersagbarkeit untersuchen, sogenannte „Composite Analyses“ sind, also Analysen, bei denen viele einzelne Fälle zu einem Mittel zusammengefasst werden. Wir weisen jedoch explizit darauf hin, dass die Erhöhung der probabilistischen Vorhersagbarkeit allein nicht ausreicht, um einen kausalen Zusammenhang zwischen der SSW und der Kältewelle abzuleiten. 

 

Abbildung: Schematische Darstellung der Vorhersagbarkeit eines Extremereignisses für verschiedene Prognosebereiche (Langzeitprognosen mit Vorlaufzeit von einem Monat bis Kurzzeitprognosen mit Vorlaufzeiten von nur wenigen Tagen) unter dem Einfluss von Ferneinwirkungen (z.B. plötzliche Stratosphärenerwärmung, SSW), die auf subsaisonaler Ebene relevant sind. Hellgraue Schattierungen geben die Streuung des Ensembles an (5. bis 95. Perzentil), während dunkelgraue Schattierungen den Mittelwert des Ensembles aufzeigen.

Mehr Details finden Sie in Kautz et al. (2020) [1]. Die Studie wurde im Rahmen des C8-Projekts (https://www.wavestoweather.de/research_areas/phase2/c8/index.html) des DFG TransRegios 165 „Waves to Weather“ (W2W) und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem EZMW durchgeführt. 

[1] Kautz*, L-A, Polichtchouk*, I, Birner, T, Garny, H, & Pinto, JG. Enhanced extended‐range predictability of the 2018 late‐winter Eurasian cold spell due to the stratosphere. QJR Meteorol Soc. 2020; 1-16. https://doi.org/10.1002/qj.3724

Arbeitsgruppe: Regional Climate and Weather Hazards