deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

The politics of air pollution in Africa

Figure: Presentation of the policy relevant results from the DACCIWA project at the EU Delegation in Abidjan Ivory Coast on 18 October 2016. Besides the project scientists, there are representatives of Ivorian ministries and other organisations as well as of European embassies on the photo. The event was covered in the evening news on national TV (https://youtu.be/aa_kyanvUOQ, about minute 20).

The population in Africa is the fastest growing in the world. Particularly in southern West Africa, the combination of population increase, urbanisation and economic growth has led to a projected tripling of manmade emissions of pollutants between 2000 and 2030. The DACCIWA (Dynamics-Aerosol-Chemistry-Cloud Interactions in West Africa) project is the first to investigate the magnitude of the air pollution problem and its impacts on human health and weather and climate in the region. DACCIWA is coordinated by Prof Peter Knippertz, leader of IMK-TRO’s Working Group “Atmospheric Dynamics”. The EU-funded consortium consists of 18 European and African research institutions.

After five years of intense research, DACCIWA will come to an end in November 2018. “It is therefore time for us to summarise results of our great research”, says Knippertz, “and to communicate the main findings to stakeholders and policymakers”. This is done through a series of workshops in three West African capitals (Accra on 12 October, Abidjan on 18 October and Lomé on 19 October) and in Brussels (15 November). Additionally, the key conclusions and recommendations are written up in English and French in a Policy Brief document that will be freely available through the project’s website www.dacciwa.eu.

Given the general sparsity of atmospheric observations in Africa, a key to the significant scientific advances DACCIWA made was a major international field campaign in June-July 2016 in Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Benin and Nigeria. This campaign consisted of 50 scientific flights with German, French and British research aircraft, three highly instrumented supersites, ca. 770 weather balloon launches from seven different sites and urban measurements in Abidjan and Cotonou.

With respect to air pollution, DACCIWA scientists found that concentrations of small particles frequently exceed international standards in West African cities, causing significant respiratory and heart diseases. During the dry season, particles come from city emissions (mostly traffic, domestic and waste burning), agricultural fires and mineral dust from the Sahara, leading to the highest overall concentrations. In the wet season, city emissions increase due to the use of damper wood and charcoal and there is a significant import of smoke from the extensive forest and agricultural fires in central Africa. Ways to mitigate this problem include a move to gas and electricity for domestic cooking, regulations for biomass burning and a reduction of the sulphur content in fuels for vehicles. “Through DACCIWA we realised that air pollution in Africa is a trans-boundary problem”, says Knippertz, “and cannot be solved by one country alone.”

DACCIWA also discovered impacts of the increased particle concentrations on weather and climate. While cloud properties appear to be affected only marginally, the reduction of sunlight reaching the ground in a hazy atmosphere affects the coastal circulation, the daily cycle of clouds and possibly rainfall.

DACCIWA scientists also used the policy workshops to make a strong plea to improve the availability and accessibility of data for research. This includes not only air pollution and meteorological parameters but also socio-economic and emission data as well as health statistics.

[Working group: Atmospheric Dynamics]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Politische Lösungen für Luftverschmutzung in Afrika

Abbildung: Präsentation der politikrelevanten Ergebnisse des DACCIWA-Projektes bei der EU-Delegation in Abidjan (Elfenbeinküste). Neben den Projektwissenschaftlern sind auf dem Foto Vertreter von ivorischen Ministerien und anderen Organisation sowie von europäischen Botschaften zu sehen. Über das Ereignis wurde in den Abendnachtrichten im nationalen ivorischen Fernsehen berichtet (https://youtu.be/aa_kyanvUOQ, ca. Minute 20).

Die Bevölkerung Afrikas ist die am schnellsten wachsende der Welt. Insbesondere im südlichen Westafrika führt die Kombination von Bevölkerungszunahme, Urbanisierung und Wirtschaftswachstum zu einer erwarteten Verdreifachung von menschgemachten Emissionen von Schadstoffen zwischen 2000 und 2030. Das DACCIWA-Projekt (Dynamics-Aerosol-Chemistry-Cloud Interactions in West Africa) hat zum ersten Mal das Ausmaß des Luftverschmutzungsproblems sowie seine Auswirkungen auf die menschliche Gesundheit, Wetter und Klima in der Region untersucht. DACCIWA wird von Prof. Peter Knippertz, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe “Atmosphärische Dynamik” am IMK-TRO, koordiniert. Das EU-geförderte Konsortium besteht aus 18 europäischen und afrikanischen Forschungsinstitutionen.

Nach fünf Jahren intensiver Forschung geht DACCIWA im November 2018 zu Ende. “Die Zeit ist reif, dass wir die Ergebnisse unserer hervorragenden Forschung zusammenfassen”, sagt Knippertz, “und die wichtigsten Schlüsse an Politiker und andere Interessensgruppen kommunizieren”. Dies erfolgt im Rahmen von Workshops in drei westafrikanischen Hauptstädten (Accra am 12. Oktober, Abidjan am 18. Oktober und Lomé am 19. Oktober) und in Brüssel (15. November). Zusätzlich werden die präsentierten Schlussfolgerungen und Empfehlungen in einem „Policy Brief“ auf englisch und französisch aufgeschrieben und auf der Projektwebseite www.dacciwa.eu bereitgestellt.

Auf Grund der unzureichenden Verfügbarkeit von Atmosphärenbeobachtungen in Afrika, war eine große internationale Feldkampagne im Juni-Juli 2016 in der Elfenbeinküste, Ghana, Togo, Benin und Nigeria ein wesentlicher Schlüssel zum erheblichen wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt durch DACCIWA. Im Rahmen dieser Kampagne gab es 50 wissenschaftliche Flüge mit Forschungsflugzeugen aus Deutschland, Frankreich und Großbritannien, drei hochgradig instrumentierte „Supersites“, ca. 770 Wetterballonaufstiege von sieben verschiedenen Stationen sowie Messungen in Abidjan und Cotonou.

Im Hinblick auf Luftverschmutzung fanden die DACCIWA-Wissenschaftler, dass Konzentrationen von Feinstaubpartikeln in westafrikanischen Städten häufig internationale Standards überschreiten und somit erhebliche Atem- und Herzerkrankungen hervorrufen. Während der Trockenzeit stammen diese Partikel aus städtischen Emission (überwiegend Verkehr, Hausfeuer und Müllverbrennung), landwirtschaftlichen Feuern und Mineralstaub aus der Sahara, was zu einem saisonalen Maximum führt. In der Regenzeit, steigen die Hausfeueremission durch die Verbrennung von feuchtem Holz und Holzkohle. Zudem gibt es einen signifikanten Import von Rauch aus den weitreichenden Wald- und Landwirtschaftsfeuern in Zentralafrika. Möglichkeiten zur Bekämpfung dieses Problems sind ein vermehrter Einsatz von Gas und Elektrizität beim Kochen, Regulierung der Biomasseverbrennung und eine Reduktion des Schwefelanteils im Fahrzeugbenzin. “Durch DACCIWA haben wir gelernt, dass Luftverschmutzung in Afrika ein grenzübergreifendes Problem ist”, sagt Knippertz, “welches nicht von einem Land alleine gelöst werden kann.”

DACCIWA hat auch Auswirkungen der erhöhten Partikelkonzentrationen auf Wetter und Klima gefunden. Während Wolkeneigenschaften nur wenig beeinflusst zu sein scheinen, hat die Verringerung der Sonnenstrahlung am Boden in einer getrübten Atmosphäre Auswirkungen auf die Küstenzirkulation, den Tagesgang von Wolken und möglicherweise auch Niederschlag.

DACCIWA-Wissenschaftler haben die Workshops ebenfalls dazu genutzt, um auf eine Verbesserung der Datenverfügbarkeit für die Forschung zu drängen. Dies bezieht sich nicht nur auf meteorologische Luftverschmutzungsparameter, sondern auch auf sozio-ökonomische, Emissions- und Gesundheitsdaten.

[Arbeitsgruppe: Atmosphärische Dynamik]