deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Climate change impacts on European olive orchards

Climate change will have a strong impact on southern European olive producing countries

Fig. 1: Olive yields simulated for the recent-past (1981-2005) and difference between future climate conditions (2041-2070, RCP8.5) and recent-past. The dark grey area in lower right insert indicates the regions where the differences are statistically significant (99% confidence-level

The olive tree is one of the best adapted species to the Mediterranean climate and one of the most important crops in the Mediterranean basin. Traditional olive groves present very specific climatic requirements to obtain high production levels and quality. Given ongoing and projected climate change, it is important to investigate possible impacts on this crop. These impacts have now been assessed for Southern Europe using a dynamic crop model, which considers on the one hand soil, terrain and management data and on the other hand regional climate model ensemble simulations from the EURO-CORDEX initiative. This allows calculating olive yields for the recent-past (1989–2005) and the future (2041–2070, following the RCP4.5 and RCP8.5 scenarios) in southern Europe (Fig. 1). For the recent-past, significant differences are identified between western and eastern olive growing areas. Southern Iberia shows high growing season temperatures and low values for growing season precipitation, which contribute to higher potential evapotranspiration and consequently stronger water demand. Thus, yields are typically lower in inner south Iberia and higher in Italy and Greece (in agreement with historical field data), where more adequate climate conditions are given.

Future projections indicate a general increase in the growing season length along with an increase in the growing season temperature (up to 3°C). The growing season precipitation is projected to decrease across Western Europe, leading to enhanced water demand and consequently a yield decrease (reaching -45% in parts of Southern Iberia). Over southeastern Europe, a slight increase in the growing season precipitation is projected, leading to lower water demand and a small yield increase (up to +15%). Nevertheless, climate change may have strong negative impacts on the viability of olive orchards in southern Iberia and some parts of Italy. Thus, adequate and timely planning of suitable adaptation measures are needed to ensure the sustainability of the olive sector in these regions. One of the most important adaptation measures in these areas is the improvement of water use efficiency, e.g. using so-called “smart irrigation systems”. Another possible measure is the selection of more adapted olive tree varieties, with higher drought and heat tolerance, thus requiring less water to obtain similar yield levels.

Reference: Fraga H, Pinto JG, Viola F, Santos JA (2019) Climate change projections for olive yields in the Mediterranean Basin. Int J Clim, doi: 10.1002/joc.6237

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Der Einfluss des Klimawandels auf den Olivenanbau in Europa

Der aktuelle Klimawandel wird einen starken Einfluss auf den Olivenanbau in Südeuropa haben.

Abb. 1: Simulierte Olivenerträge der jüngeren Vergangenheit (1981 – 2005, oben) und deren Änderung in der Zukunft (2041-2070, RCP8.5 Szenario, mitte). Dunkelgraue Gebiete in der unteren kleinen Abbildung kennzeichnen Regionen in denen die Änderungen signifikant sind (99% Konfidenznvieau).

Olivenbäume sind eine der am besten an das Mittelmeerklima angepasste Spezies und gleichzeitig eine der wichtigsten Nutzpflanzen dieser Region. Für eine hohe Qualität und Ertragsrate benötigen traditionelle Olivenhaine bestimmte klimatische Bedingungen. Im Rahmen des aktuellen Klimawandels ist es wichtig, die klimatischen Einflussfaktoren auf den Olivenbestand möglichst genau zu kennen. Im Rahmen eines Forschungsvorhabens wurden diese Einflussfaktoren mit Hilfe eines Pflanzenwachstumsmodell untersucht, dass neben Daten für Boden/Geländebeschaffenheit und Anbaumanagement auch auf regionale Klimadaten des EURO-CORDEX Programms zurückgreift. Sowohl für die jüngere Vergangenheit (1989 – 2005) als auch für die Zukunft (2041 – 2070, basierend auf den RCP4.5 und RCP8.5 Szenarien) können somit die (zu erwartenden) Ernteerträge berechnet werden (Abbildung 1). Bei der Betrachtung der Erträge der jüngeren Vergangenheit erkennt man deutliche Unterschiede zwischen den östlichen und westlichen Anbaugebieten. Auf der iberischen Halbinsel führen hohe Temperaturen und geringe Niederschläge während der Wachstumsphase zu einer erhöhten potentiellen Evapotranspiration und somit zu einem erhöhten Wasserbedarf. Diese führt hier typischerweise zu geringeren Ernteerträgen im Vergleich zu Italien und Griechenland (in Übereinstimmung mit tatsächlichen Ertragsraten), wo geeignetere Klimabedingungen vorzufinden sind.  

Für das zukünftige Klima wird eine generell längere Wachstumsphase mit höheren Temperaturen (Zunahme um bis zu 3°C) projiziert. Für die westlichen Anbaugebiete wird zudem eine Abnahme des Niederschlags während der Wachstumsphase angenommen, was zu einem Anstieg des Wasserbedarfs und schlussendlich zu einer Reduktion der Ernteerträge (bis zu 45% weniger Erträge auf der Iberischen Halbinsel) führt. Für die östlichen Anbaugebiete wird ein leichter Anstieg des Niederschlags während der Wachstumsphase projiziert, was zu einem etwas geringere Wasserbedarf und somit zu einer leichten Ertragssteigerung (bis zu 15% mehr Ertrag) führt. Insgesamt werden durch den Klimawandel negative Konsequenzen für den Olivenanbau auf der Iberischen Halbinsel und in Teilen Italiens erwartet. Nur durch adäquate und frühzeitige Planungen von Adaptionsmechanismen kann ein nachhaltiger Olivenanbau in diesen Gebieten gewährleistet werden. Eine entscheidende Rolle wird in Zukunft auf eine effizientere Wassernutzung, beispielsweise durch intelligente Bewässerungssysteme, zukommen. Auch die Wahl anderer Olivensorten mit einer höheren Dürre und Hitzeresistenz kann dabei helfen das Niveau der Ernteerträge zu halten.        

Literatur: Fraga H, Pinto JG, Viola F, Santos JA (2019) Climate change projections for olive yields in the Mediterranean Basin. Int J Clim, doi: 10.1002/joc.6237