deutsch  | Home | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Significant for air quality: understanding wind fields in the city

Photo: Andreas Wieser/KIT Photo: Andreas Wieser/KIT

Wind and weather are decisive factors for the air quality and the climate in agglomerations. By now, climate models are still too coarse to support concrete urban planning. The question is how to urban districts, buildings and street canyons must be planned to achieve positive effects for air quality.

Innovative urban climate models of the major project [UC] 2 could answer these questions soon. For the validation and application tests of the new model, long-term observations and intensive measurement campaigns will collect data on weather, climate and air quality in the cities of Berlin, Hamburg and Stuttgart. Researchers of IMK-TRO operate state-of-the-art, meteorological remote sensing instruments in Baden-Württemberg's state capital, which repeatedly hits the headlines due to poor air quality.

The city center of Stuttgart is located in a densely populated basin, which has an impact on the urban wind field and has disadvantages for ventilation and ventilation in the city. For this reason, the focal point is the exact and small-scale understanding of the wind fields. Therefore, different methods of measurement are used to collect data on the inner-city wind field and on interactions between the city and the surrounding area. Several Doppler Lidar instruments and a microwave radiometer provide information on the horizontal structure of the inner city wind field and the vertical structure of the urban boundary layer. The influence of the city on the spatial distribution of precipitation is recorded with the help of precipitation radar. These instruments are part of the IMK-TRO-operated KITcube measurement system – an integrated observation platform that enables temporally and spatially high-resolution measurements in the troposphere.

First evaluations of the intensive measurement campaign in the summer of 2017 show excellent data quality, which gives rise to the assumption of promising results. Until mid-2019, a first evaluation of the new urban climate model (www.palm4u.org) should be completed using the data collected during the intensive measuring campaigns.

For more details, have a look at the ESKP-special topic “Metropolises under pressure (in german)”:
https://themenspezial.eskp.de/metropolen-unter-druck/staedte-erforschen/windfelder-in-der-stadt/

[Working Group: Land Surfaces and Boundary Layer]

english  | Home | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Entscheidend für die Luftqualität: Windfelder in der Stadt verstehen

Foto: Andreas Wieser/KIT Foto: Andreas Wieser/KIT

Wind und Wetter sind entscheidende Faktoren für die Luftqualität und das Klima in Ballungsräumen. Noch sind Klimamodelle zu grobmaschig, um die konkrete Stadtplanung stützen zu können. Die Frage ist, wie Stadtquartiere, Gebäude und Straßenschluchten geplant werden müssen, um positive Effekte für die Luftqualität zu erringen.

Innovative Stadtklimamodelle des Großprojekts [UC]2 könnten diese Fragen bald beantworten. Für die Validierung und Anwendungstests des neuen Modells werden in Langzeitbeobachtungen und Intensivmesskampagnen Daten zu Wetter, Klima und Luftqualität in den Großstädten Berlin, Hamburg und Stuttgart erhoben. Forscher des IMK-TRO betreiben hochmoderne, meteorologische Fernerkundungsmessgeräte in der baden-württembergischen Landeshauptstadt, welche aufgrund schlechter Luftqualität immer wieder in die Schlagzeilen gerät.

Stuttgarts Stadtkern liegt in einem Talkessel mit hoher Bebauungsdichte, was Auswirkungen auf das städtische Windfeld hat und Nachteile für die Belüftung und Ventilation der Stadt mit sich bringt. Dreh- und Angelpunkt ist aus diesem Grunde das genaue und kleinräumige Verständnis der Windfelder. Mit unterschiedlichen Messmethoden werden deshalb Daten zum innerstädtischen Windfeld und zu Wechselwirkungen zwischen Stadt und Umland erhoben. Mehrere Doppler Lidargeräte und ein Mikrowellenradiometer liefern Informationen zur horizontalen Struktur des innerstädtischen Windfelds und dem vertikalen Aufbau der urbanen Grenzschicht. Der Einfluss der Stadt auf die räumliche Verteilung des Niederschlags wird mit Hilfe eines Niederschlagradars erfasst. Diese Geräte sind Teil des am IMK-TRO betriebenen KITcube Messsystems – einer integrierten Beobachtungsplattform, die zeitlich und räumlich hochaufgelöste Messungen in der Troposphäre ermöglicht.

Erste Auswertungen der Intensivmesskampagne im Sommer 2017 zeigen eine ausgezeichnete Datenqualität und lassen vielversprechende Ergebnisse erwarten. Bis Mitte 2019 soll eine erste Evaluierung des neuen Stadtklimamodells (www.palm4u.org) mit den während der Intensivmesskampagnen gewonnen Daten abgeschlossen sein.

Mehr dazu im ESKP-Themenspezial "Metropolen unter Druck":
https://themenspezial.eskp.de/metropolen-unter-druck/staedte-erforschen/windfelder-in-der-stadt/

[Arbeitsgruppe: Landoberflächen und Grenzschicht]